Vijayanagara border approval: All you need to know

Karnataka Cabinet approves Vijayanagara district boundaries for the newly carved Vijayanagara district, out of the Ballari district. During a press conference, Karnataka Law and parliamentary affairs Minister J.C Madhuswamy announced that Hosapete will be the district headquarters.

As per the official communication, six taluks from Ballari district – Hospet, Harappanahalli, Hoovinahadagali, Hagari Bommanahalli, Kotturu and Kudligi – would expectedly be the part of the new district and the remaining five taluks – Ballari, Sandur, Kampli, Kurugode and Siruguppa – would remain in Ballari district after the bifurcation. Hosapet would be the headquarters of the new district.

While the World Heritage Site of Hampi and the magnificent Tungabhadra reservoir would be part of Vijayanagara district, the mining areas and the mining-based industries and rice-growing irrigated belts and rice mills would be distributed between the two districts.

Despite the ongoing protests in the district, agitation was shown against the cabinet’s nod for the bifurcation, the cabinet however approved the decision on friday. Hosapete is expected to be the capital of Karnataka’s 31st district.

Though Forest Minister and Ballari in-charge Anand Singh, the man who was instrumental in the formation of the new district, had, as a bid to pacify the dissent for the Ballari bifurcation, repeatedly said that the boundaries of the new district and its headquarters would be finalised as per the administrative convenience, the Cabinet did not alter the original proposal both in terms of the taluks to be carved out from Ballari district to form the new district and the headquarters.

Zeen is a next generation WordPress theme. It’s powerful, beautifully designed and comes with everything you need to engage your visitors and increase conversions.

More Stories
Glasshouse to be constructed at Hospet-Minister Anand Singh