Vijayanagara becomes 31st district

The state government has released a notification demarcating the boundaries of the newly-formed district of Vijayanagara. This is the state’s 31st district.

The six taluks that come under Vijayanagara are: Hosapete, Kudligi, Hagaribommanahalli, Kotturu, Hoovina Hadagali, and Harapanahalli. Hosapete is the headquarters of the new district.

Ballari district has five taluks – Ballari, Kurugodu, Siraguppa, Kampli, and Sanduru – with Ballari as its headquarters, said the notification.

The government had called for objections and feedback on the new district on December 14 until January 13, 2021. 4,739 complaints against the establishment of Vijayanagara were received by the Ballari administration and 10,513 letters in favour. The government released a notification on the basis of this.

Senior government officials said that it will be a long-drawn exercise to carve out the district, with current land records and records of more than 30 departments expected to be bifurcated from Ballari. It would be a Herculean task to build the basic civic infrastructure for the establishment of offices, in addition to the need to procure sufficient funds and officials across different cadres, including those of All India Services.

Zeen is a next generation WordPress theme. It’s powerful, beautifully designed and comes with everything you need to engage your visitors and increase conversions.

More Stories
Bus runs over 3 students in Ballari. Dead on spot